A Birthday Dedication

God knew I needed a big sister to help direct my path as a mom and a woman. He knew I needed a friend, a momma-model and a partner in crime. And yet, it wasn’t after 26 years of existence that He brought you into my life.

We met rather unconventionally and Facebook was the key. It was on that delightful Saturday afternoon in Fountain Valley that we first met. We didn’t even talk much that day but meeting was a start. I thought I was there for an acquaintance and to find answers to the mysteries of my mom’s life. But little did I know that God had other plans.

When I moved here to the Bay Area, I hardly knew anyone. New life, new job, new place with no friends, no family and nothing was anywhere close to familiar. But with the surprise of our honeymoon baby, you and I reconnected. I was hesitant at first since I had no clue who you were.  But you reached out and lent a hand when I was giving up. We bonded over labor stories and my nightmares with breastfeeding as we both held our little ones across from each other. You breastfed like a pro while I struggled through the nursing covers. As I battled through the agony of nursing, you said with a confident smile, ” You’ll get a hang of it! One day, it will become really easy too. You can do it.” I honestly thought you were nuts! But I’m glad you were right! Months passed, you moved on and taught me how to make puréed sweet potatoes with a hand blender and coached me through sleep-training, teething and potty-training. I think I copied almost everything from high-chairs to bath soaps, rockers to utensils. MMMM….Amazon made a lot of money because of you! I just bought what you’ve tried and tested. I was your number one copycat!

Little do you know but you silently show me a lot of things, like how to discipline in love and develop (and try really hard to stick to) a schedule. I watch you diligently as you set the tone for a godly home and reign with Christ-centeredness. You and I know you sometimes flip the switch, but you quickly admit your faults and direct yourself back to the Lord. I love that we live 45 minutes away now and see each other as often as we can. Our kids love each other and they surely are making up for our lost time.

IMG_6020

I enjoy our blunt conversations about our struggles and laugh about our mishaps. I love you for your wisdom and how you generously share your knowledge about motherhood and the tips that you’ve learned through the years. I’m glad you went before me in this journey, for I have great footsteps to follow. Thank you for literally giving my kids beds to sleep on, toys to play with, clothes to wear and yummy noodles to eat. I’m eternally grateful!


IMG_5143

My boys and I are beyond blessed you were born…not so long ago. Happy birthday to you, Naemi! Even though you grew up in opposite ends of the world, how far we’ve come has brought me closer to home than I could have ever imagined. May God bless you beyond your wildest dreams and may He continue to bless others through you. Psalm 89:15 “How blessed are the people who know the joyful sound! O Lord, they walk in the light of Your countenance.” My prayer is that you will always be filled with His joy and may His countenance always be a reflection through your life. We love you! Cheers to you cousin! So glad I’m related to someone so awesome…I guess it’s in the genes!  Happy birthday Naemi!

Leave a Reply

