Teaching the Creation Story the Creative Way

Teaching my boys about the Lord is a top priority in our family. Raising them to love God’s Word and obey it is our desire and prayer for them. This week, as we went through our Bible study, I decided to teach them about creation. I wanted them to know and understand how great our God is since I knew that at the end of the week, we would be visiting the Cal Academy of Sciences. We went through each day following what God had created. I came up with these activities to go with our lesson to make it more fun and exciting for Micah and Titus.

Genesis 1:2-3 Then God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. 4 And God saw that the light was good. Then he separated the light from the darkness. 5 God called the light “day” and the darkness “night.”

Materials: flashlight and a dark room

ACTIVITY: I would shine the flashlight on different parts of a dark room. As the flashlight is on I would say, “light” and if it was off I would say “dark”. He also learned day and night. He had a lot of turning the flashlight on and off and shining it on different parts of the room.

Genesis 1:6- 8 Then God said, “Let there be a space between the waters, to separate the waters of the heavens from the waters of the earth.” 7 And that is what happened. God made this space to separate the waters of the earth from the waters of the heavens. 8 God called the space “sky.”

Materials: clear glass with half-full water, blue food coloring, and shaving cream

ACTIVITY: I had a lot of fun with this one too! I got a clear glass and filled it half way with water. Then I filled the top half with shaving cream to represent the sky. I asked Micah to drop blue food coloring to emphasize the difference. Then later, we learned about the different kinds of clouds as we continued to experiment on it.

IMG_3349

Genesis 1:9-10 Then God said, “Let the waters beneath the sky flow together into one place, so dry ground may appear.” And that is what happened. 10 God called the dry ground “land” and the waters “seas.”

Materials: play dough to represent land; a cup of water with blue food coloring, a tray/container, globe

ACTIVITY: I showed him the globe and had him point out the land and water areas to me. He recited the continents as we did it. I purposely made green play dough so I could use it in this activity. I took a chunk of the green play dough and placed it at the center of the tray. I told Micah that it was land. I recited the verse to him and while we were doing so, I asked him pour the water into the tray. He noticed that it went around the “land”. I made him feel the top of the play dough and he told me it was dry and I said, that was land. He then pointed to the water and said, “seas.” I’d like to think think he got the point somehow. 🙂

IMG_5737

Land & Water!

IMG_8512

Genesis 1: 11-12 Then God said, “Let the land sprout with vegetation—every sort of seed-bearing plant, and trees that grow seed-bearing fruit. These seeds will then produce the kinds of plants and trees from which they came.” And that is what happened. 12 The land produced vegetation—all sorts of seed-bearing plants, and trees with seed-bearing fruit. Their seeds produced plants and trees of the same kind. And God saw that it was good.

Materials: soil, seeds, shovel, watering can

ACTIVITY: I took him outside and had him touch the soil and water the tomato plant that his auntie had helped him plant a few weeks ago. He pointed out the flowers that were on the table and he said, “God made plants.”

Genesis 1:16-18 God made two great lights—the larger one to govern the day, and the smaller one to govern the night. He also made the stars. 17 God set these lights in the sky to light the earth, 18 to govern the day and night, and to separate the light from the darkness. And God saw that it was good.

Materials: Oreo cookies!

ACTIVITY: I prepared the 4 cookies and I ended up using just the full moon and new moon because the quarters were a little hard for him to understand. I took it away and focused on the two he concepts he was able to grasp. Of course, you guessed it. He ate the cookies after! But only the bottom part of the full moon without the cream (I didn’t want him to get hyper! Haha!). When we were done, we went outside and sang the song Mr. Sun as he pointed the sun to me and we even got his sunglasses because he said it was too hot.

IMG_4171

Who doesn’t love oreos?!

Genesis 1: 20; 24 Then God said, “Let the waters swarm with fish and other life. Let the skies be filled with birds of every kind.”24 Then God said, “Let the earth produce every sort of animal, each producing offspring of the same kind—livestock, small animals that scurry along the ground, and wild animals.”

Materials: different kinds of animals, a container of water with blue food coloring, one tray with shaving cream (sky) and a green placemat (our veggie chopping mat)

 ACTIVITY: I had him lay them all out and name the animals one by one as I shared the verses with him. He had to put the birds in the “sky” (shaving cream container), land animals on the green mat and sea creatures in the tub of water. Then of course at the end, we had to wipe down the sea creatures before putting them back in their proper containers. We sorted the animals according to their habitat, (farm animals in one container, jungle animals in another, etc) and as a reminder to which container they go, I placed a picture on the outside.

Even Titus got to do it!

Genesis 1: 27 So God created human beings in his own image. In the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.

Materials: Titus, Micah, Mama 

IMG_3445 20140718-IMG_6098

 ACTIVITY: We thanked God for all that He has made and Micah said God made Micah and Titus and Mama and Papa and He started naming everyone he could think of that God made—all the family and friends he could recall. We close in prayer after each lesson and throughout the day, we talked about what God had made. Now, when we’re driving he would be pointing things out and telling us that God made it. We finished off our fun week with a visit to the Cal Academy of Sciences and it was great! He was able to acknowledge what His creator has done and appreciate the beauty of all that He has made! He even got the fish guide and pointed them out and said, “Mama, God made the fish!”

Teaching your kids about God can be done in a fun and exciting way. I hope that these activities will inspire you to make Bible stories come to life in the eyes of your child. 🙂

CAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCE was a great way to end our lesson! Everyone had a blast learning about the beautiful creation of the Lord!

20140718-IMG_6028

Titus was mesmerized by the fish.

20140718-IMG_6036

Stick your hand in the touch pool!

20140718-IMG_6046

Titus touched the sea urchin!

I love how he attributed it to the Creator!

Mama! God made the fish!

20140718-IMG_6021

Grandpa and Titus!

Micah & Grandpa

Everyone learned something new that day!

Everyone learned something new that day!

3 thoughts on “Teaching the Creation Story the Creative Way

  1. Hi, what do you use for your Bible study with your toddler? I want to start a quiet/devotional time with my toddler. What would you suggest? Thanks,

    • Hi Luchi! I am so sorry I wasn’t able to get back to you sooner. I am on vacation. I use discipleland as our devotional. I like it a lot. I use the bible as the point of reference but it is a great guide. 🙂 I like it a lot. 🙂 I like their adventure bible too. 🙂 My son enjoys reading it too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

